[MV] Red Velvet (레드벨벳): Rookie

Red Velvet’s Rookie is from their 4th mini album, Rookie, released last February 1st.

.


Teasers

I have been liking their recent concept of being very colorful and weird, in a positive way. It is very eccentric and energetic. It’s a refreshing take on the style Kpop could offer.

It is also very interesting how SM gave out these teasers through some puzzles that you have to solve. Here are the members’ teaser puzzles

Each member has puzzle you have to solve that will lead them to the second picture, where they are like giants in the page. lols. The teaser is very colorful and very Red Velvet-like.

Tracklist

It seems that SM will be releasing a booklet as well for this album, not that it is very unusual.

Red Velvet released two teaser clips for its fans. Indeed, they showed a very colorful and unique concept just like how they are known for. These teasers gave me a bit of their Dumb Dumb Dumb vibes and a bit of fantasy.

Teaser Rating: ♥♥♥//

It is quite teasing but not to the point that I would really stay up late just to have a first look at their music video. Maybe this is because their last release is still quite present and the longing for a Red Velvet comeback is not yet that intense. Also, though it has a unique concept, this is really nothing new to the group’s image. Maybe, it is more unique compared to what they already did but still, it is very familiar. Nevertheless, it does give some impact on the eccentric Red Velvet.

.


Music feels like…

It said it is the official instrumental version of Rookie and it seems so. As I listened to this version, it reminded me of the Kara’s Wanna MV. The music sounded so mischievous, as if planning to ruin something and doing something really naughty… just like Wanna MV. It sounds really cute but mischievous. It is as if these beautiful girls, which they are, were having fun messing this room up and throwing up clothes and stuff. Then, at the part where the music slowed and became kind of mellow, it is like as if they found the ultimate item to ruin. Like, this is it; this is what they came for. And just like any other thing in the room, they destroyed the item. Then, went away after all the fun.

I know this is not what the song is about but this is what my imagination came up after listening to this instrumental version of Rookie. Peace out!

.


MV Recap

This is the first time that I will actually be doing a recap for a Red Velvet MV and I must say, this one is kind of confusing.

MV Rating: ♥♥♥♥/
Song Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

As I have said, this MV is very confusing which is why there’s one less ♥. But nevertheless, it is a visual spectacle which I think has the best application of their Red” concept among the past releases that they had. It is very colorful, bold and unique. The same goes for the song itself. It will be one of the episodes of their fans’ LSS. In fact, mine’s this one actually. *Lrookie lrookie* It has a very addicting flow *lrookie lrookie* and a very active tune *lrookie lrookie*. This will be a perfect song for workout.

Going back to the MV, please pardon whatever story I made up out of this music video as this is how I have perceived the whole of it. This does not reflect any of the the artist or the company but my own. This is a complete FICTION made out of my confused mind. I don’t intend to offend any parties. And with that, here’s the recap!

mv-2

You see, they are in this room until flower guy went out of the closet. Everyone’s frozen on their positions. Wendy is about to spray the perfume in the mirror stand. Seulgi is sitting on the bed with a book. Irene is standing by the window. Joy is drinking in a cup on the couch. And Yeri is standing by the door answering the phone. It seems that Flower Guy uses this puppet as if this is the story’s narrator.

mv-6

But that is only until Flower Guy clapped the slate and everyone started to move, as if the director shouted Action! and the actors started acting. Irene looked at the camera. Joy, as if startled, threw out her cup. Wendy started spraying her perfume. Yeri put down the phone. And Seulgi closed her book and stopped reading.

mv-12

And here come’s the real trouble. Joy has this smoky thing that seems to have a very addicting aroma. She presented it to her members and they got high (fictional!!!), especially Yeri and Irene. But of course, each had their own fantasies. First stop, Seulgi!

Now, Seulgi is looking over her closet and has been throwing clothes she doesn’t like to Wendy’s direction. But not until Wendy got enough of it and threw all the clothes off.

Seulgi found something weird in her closet and immediately closed it. However, out of curiosity, she opened the closet once more then ended being pulled in.

She got inside her closet where a completely red hallway leads to another door at the end of it. Flower Guy was running towards this other door with the imaginary Yeri (imaginary because this is Seulgi’s fantasy) trying to tease Seulgi more into entering the door.

And just like how the previous Seulgi curiously opened her closet, she went in again and arrived into another world. Then danced lrookie lrrokie!

This world seems to be filled with imaginary Yeri. Yes, yes, the members were there. But no, you’re wrong. This is imaginary Yeri projecting as the members. The members doing hide and seek but it’s just Yeri. Yeri ran along the colorful tree but then the members showed up after the tree.

So the imaginary Yeri’s acting as the members along with the high Seulgi ran happily through this colorful road and into the closet once again. And there we end Seulgi’s fantasy to go into Irene’s fantasy.

mv-37

Irene went inside the closet…

mv-38

And lit up a match…

mv-39

Apparently, the closet that she is in is swimming in in a tub full of bath bombs. And there we end Irene’s. I know, I know. It is very short. I’ll explain later. We’ll go ahead to Wendy’s fantasies!!!

So I guess, Wendy got really dizzy for the aroma that she inhaled and she ended up stumbling into the chair.

She got completely high (fictional!!!) and the chair seems to be a roller coaster ride. It brought Wendy and her members into this very abstract surroundings. And done, sorry. Now, onto Joy’s fantasy.

mv-42

And there is Joy. I think she got most of the aroma. After all, she’s the one holding it. Anyway…

She opened the door just to arrive into a very cyan room. Flower Guy moved the wall so she will go to the other where her members is in “rooms” where they seem to be “giants” (if you noticed the tiny furniture and all). And the Flower Guy moved the wall again, so Joy will go through the door.

But then, Joy doesn’t want any of those and leaves the “room”. But she won’t be safe that long as the Flower Guy’s spaceship is going right into her.

They say that right before a person dies, he/she suddenly had this vision of his life. I think this is somehow like that. So imaginary Irene and Yeri (imaginary because we’re in Joy’s fantasy) opened the curtain as if presenting Joy’s life. Then Joy went out of the closet then closed it again. But, it started to rattle and…

BOOM! It exploded. And suprise! The members are there! It’s as if this tub-like boat went off the closet and onto the stage. And you can see that Flower Guy is coming along with them.

The members went off as if it is the most relaxing and fun thing in the world.

mv-67

But of course, fantasy within fantasy didn’t last long as it is revealed that Irene has been directing it all along.

mv-80

And back to Joy’s original fantasy. She opened the curtains where she will be ran over by the Flower Guy, who was being chased by the members. And the end.

Oh, where’s Yeri?

mv (82).png

She’s in the window looking into the room where the members are. And it’s really the end.

The Flower Guy showed up and bowed. The background disappeared and they all went to the stage to do their final bow.

ACTUALLY, I don’t get the MV as well. This is the best my mind could arrive at. Alright, here’s a few more explanation that I could think of. And please do pardon me once again as I hypothesize what really is happening in this confusing music video.

  • Irene is actually directing the play indicated by her being the puppet master of Flower Guy. After all, she’s the leader. I think this is the reason why she has a very short solo fantasy. Plus, she has the special scene somewhere in the beginning where she’s taking in the aroma.
  • Yeri is the all around person in the play, jack of all trades. She’s everywhere. Maybe this is why she doesn’t have a solo fantasy. And the same goes for Yeri who has a special scene in the beginning where she’s taking in the aroma.
  • It is very much possible that they are not having the fantasies by themselves but as a group. I said this because the members are in each others’ fantasy. But I think this is more of a solo fantasy than a group one. It’s just that, it is possible.
  • It is also possible that the true ending was when Joy went out of the closet. So the sequence was… Joy’s fantasy, Joy being ran over, Joy in other life which is the closet, Joy being joined by her members through a tub-like ship. I highly suspect this.

Everything was part of the play. This is the reason why Flower Guy clapped the slate in the beginning and they bowed at the end. But just a reminder, please don’t dare inhale anything you know isn’t legal. I don’t want to impose to people to inhale those aromas so they could have these happy fantasies. These are all part of the play and is a fiction. Those fantasies are not true, FANTASY!!! So yes. Just a reminder.

And there’s my speculations. It is really difficult for me to figure this music video out. That is why it only has four ♥s. It is very beautiful visually but the content is very confusing. Or maybe not. What if it’s really simple and I’m making things complicated?! Idk. Let’s move on.

(PS.  I hope I didn’t offend anyone. The stories are all fictional and these are only speculations on how the story of the MV went. Peace out.)

.


Dance Recap

As of writing, the only video that features the choreography for the whole song is the one below. I believe this is their first live performance of the song. They have been doing other promotions and stuff however, those only featured the highlight of the choreography, which is the chorus part.

Dance Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

I would definitely, with no doubt, rate this with five ♥s. First, it is very cute and matching to the flow, ups and downs of the song. Just like in the chorus part, lrookie lrookie sounds… cute tiny squishy! And it is perfectly matched with the its choreography.

lrookie

That wrist rubbing matches perfectly with the lrookie lrookie!

Other than the choreography being a match to the song, the whole of it looks pretty simple yet is actually very difficult. I know, for a certain, that if I danced this one, I’d be out of breath by the half of the song. I’ve read somewhere that Red Velvet that this is their most difficult choreography ever. And they’ve done a great job for it.

shoulder-shrug

I just love this shoulder shrug. ♥

neo-nae-type

This is actually my favorite. Neo nae type!

lrookie-yeri

Cute, isn’t it? It’s like a cat scratching its face.

lrookie-seulgi

Of course, you can’t leave out the highlight of the choreography. Lrookie lrookie!

.


Style Recap

Red Velvet has five sets of clothes for this music video. Joy has an additional one, I’m not sure why.

play

Style 1. Play.
I named this as such as this is the same clothes that they wore when they ended the music video with the play. Everyone has a unique style. Joy has a striped pink long sleeve shirt with red skirt. Seulgi has pink and blue long sleeve shirt with red pants. Irene is in red long sleeve vest with white ribbon and skirt. Wendy is wearing a rainbow long sleeve shirt with latex skirt. And finally, Yeri is wearing striped red and blue shirt in a pink overall skirt.

lolita

Style 2. Lolita.
No, they don’t have such image. But when I saw these clothes, I knew that these look very familiar. I tried searching the net for maid clothes. But these are kind of different. I tried baby clothes. Near, but not on point. But then I saw this picture that is very much alike what they are wearing and it’s a cosplay for Lolita. So yeah, I named it as such. Seulgi and Joy has similar clothes. The same goes for Wendy and Irene while Yeri has such design for her own.

space

Style 3. Space.
These are the clothes that they were wearing when they rode those spaceships that is why I named it as such. They have the same overall skirt that is designed like space but was worn with different colored collar shirts. Irene in white, Wendy in light blue, Joy in royal blue, Seulgi in sky blue and Yeri in orange. The reason for such colors, I am not sure of.

color

Style 4. Color.
I think this their most colorful clothes in the entire music video. These are the clothes that they used when Wendy got dizzy and sat on a chair then everyone had their animal backgrounds. If you could notice in the music video, this is the clothes that Joy wore when she open the door to the very cyan colored room. The members sitting in the “rooms” have these set as their clothes but Joy had a different one when she entered the “room”.

joy-special

Style 4.5. Joy.
It’s only her who has a separate one so, yeah. Not sure why but here it is.

red-card

Style 5. Red cards.
This set of clothes reminded me of the red cards in Alice in Wonderland. But instead of having white as the majority of the clothing, Red Velvet has it… red. Same dress but with different designs. Seulgi and Wendy has a bib-like collars, Yeri and Joy has Peter Pan collars while Irene doesn’t have one. The sides of Wendy, Seulgi and Irene’s dresses are designed with a cloud looking “sleeves” while Yeri and Joy’s looks like dragonfly wings. Seulgi and Yeri has red gloves, Wendy and Joy has red wristbands while Irene doesn’t have one.

If I will be ranking these clothes based on my preference… I will have PlayLolitaRed cardsSpace then Color with Color as my first.

.


Set Recap

Red Velvet has five sets for this music video. Some are modified, just like Set 1 and 5, to fit the “story”.

mv-2

Set 1A. Room. Normal version.

mv-82

Set 1B. Room. Fantasy version.

mv-25

Set 2. Red hallway.

lolita

Set 3. Unicorn land. It’s just so colorful plus it has cloud like things around, I just had to call it as such.

mv-53

Set 4. Green room.

mv-67

Set 5A. Stage. With CG background version.

mv-85

Set 5B. Stage. Without CG version.

.


Lyrics Recap

Unfortunately, there isn’t that much depth to its lyrics. However, it still remains cute and can be one of those songs you can sing to your crush while having butterflies in your stomach. But here’s what bugs my mind as I read into the song’s translation. Who made this song and who is it for? Though it is possible that this is not the case, the rookie that comes into my mind is the rookie in the Kpop entertainment world. It’s as if a senior female singer is cutely in love with this male rookie *lrookie lrookie*. And this rookie also likes this singer but they don’t tell each other! They’re flirting! But it’s definitely not annoying as it seems to be something to be thrilled at! I don’t know why this is what comes to my mind as I read on the lyrics but it is definitely cute!

Lyrics Rating: ♥♥♥//

.

Korean Lyrics
Yeah alright 1, 2
당당히 넌 고개를 들고 나를 봐
역시 Rookie rookie
my super rookie rookie boy
좋아 볼 때마다 진짜 넌 내 Type
역시 Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy ha!

이토록 거센 존재감 난 이미
혹시나 하는 작은 의심조차 못 해
즐기는 척 하하 난 웃어 봐 애써
말투까지 네 앞에선 마치 Ice같지

불쑥 들어와 넌 벌써 날 벌써 날
위태롭게 더 홀려 놔 홀려 놔
낯선 너의 번호까지
한번에 난 외워버린 거야 Why?
자꾸만 왜 날 왜 날 흔들까 넌
바짝 다가와
그래 옳지 옳지 Boy ha!

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
맞지 맞지
그 느낌적인 느낌 느낌

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
맞지 맞지
그 느낌적인 느낌 느낌

역시 넌 Nice하게
더 다가오잖아
멋진 Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy
좋아질 때마다 짜릿한 My heart
멋진 Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy ha!

딴 남자 볼 땐 웃지 좀 마 이미
넌 마치 남자친구처럼
슬쩍 화내지
아침엔 날 매일 데리러 와 Baby
날 뺏길까 봐
하루 종일 경계해 Baby yeah

I like it 날카로워진 네 눈빛
아직까진 특별할 게 없는 우리
언제까지 기다리게 할 거니
좀 더 바짝 다가와
그래 옳지 옳지 Boy ha!

불쑥 들어와 넌 벌써 날 벌써 날
위태롭게 더 홀려 놔 홀려 놔
낯선 너의 번호까지 한번에
난 외워버린 거야 Why?
자꾸만 왜 날 왜 날 흔들까 넌
바짝 다가와 그래
옳지 옳지 Boy ha!

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
맞지 맞지
그 느낌적인 느낌 느낌

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
맞지 맞지
그 느낌적인 느낌 느낌

괜히 겁이 나
내 맘 뺏긴 만큼
차가워진 척해
넌 불안해하지만 Uh
감추려 해도 이미 넌
내 마음속의 별이야
자꾸 더 반짝여
이젠 네 모든 게 Yeah

Rookie rookie 넌 나의
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie 넌 나의
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie 넌 나의
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie 넌 나의
Rookie rookie rookie

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
맞지 맞지
그 느낌적인 느낌 느낌

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
맞지 맞지
그 느낌적인 느낌 느낌

.

Romanized Lyrics
Yeah alright 1, 2
dangdanghi neon gogaereul deulgo nareul bwa
yeoksi Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy
joha bol ttaemada jinjja neon nae Type
yeoksi Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy ha!

itorok geosen jonjaegam nan imi
hoksina haneun jakeun uisimjocha mot hae
jeulgineun cheok haha nan useo bwa aesseo
maltukkaji ne apeseon machi Icegatji

bulssuk deuleowa neon beolsseo nal beolsseo nal
witaerobge deo hollyeo nwa hollyeo nwa
natseon neoui beonhokkaji
hanbeone nan oewobeorin geoya Why?
jakkuman wae nal wae nal heundeulkka neon
bajjak dagawa
geurae olhji olhji Boy ha!

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
matji matji
geu neukkimjeokin neukkim neukkim

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
matji matji
geu neukkimjeokin neukkim neukkim

yeoksi neon Nicehage
deo dagaojanha
meotjin Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy
johajil ttaemada jjarithan My heart
meotjin Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy ha!

ttan namja bol ttaen utji jom ma imi
neon machi namjachingucheoreom
seuljjeok hwanaeji
achimen nal maeil derireo wa Baby
nal ppaetgilkka bwa
haru jongil gyeonggyehae Baby yeah

I like it nalkarowojin ne nunbit
ajikkkajin teukbyeolhal ge eobtneun uri
eonjekkaji gidarige hal geoni
jom deo bajjak dagawa
geurae olhji olhji Boy ha!

bulssuk deuleowa neon beolsseo nal beolsseo nal
witaerobge deo hollyeo nwa hollyeo nwa
natseon neoui beonhokkaji hanbeone
nan oewobeorin geoya Why?
jakkuman wae nal wae nal heundeulkka neon
bajjak dagawa geurae
olhji olhji Boy ha!

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
matji matji
geu neukkimjeokin neukkim neukkim

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
matji matji
geu neukkimjeokin neukkim neukkim

gwaenhi geobi na
nae mam ppaetgin mankeum
chagawojin cheokhae
neon bulanhaehajiman Uh
gamchuryeo haedo imi neon
nae maeumsokui byeoliya
jakku deo banjjakyeo
ijen ne modeun ge Yeah

Rookie rookie neon naui
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie neon naui
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie neon naui
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie neon naui
Rookie rookie rookie

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
matji matji
geu neukkimjeokin neukkim neukkim

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
matji matji
geu neukkimjeokin neukkim neukkim

.

English Translated Lyrics
Yeah alright 1, 2
Confidently lift your head and look at me
Of course, rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy
I like you, every time I see you, you’re my type
Of course, rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy ha!

Your presence is so big
I can’t even doubt my feelings for a second
I’m pretending to enjoy this, haha I’m trying to laugh
But even the way I talk turns into ice when I’m in front of you

You suddenly came into my life
Already putting me in danger, bewitching me
I even memorized your number in one try, why?
Why do you keep shaking me up?
Come close to me
Yes, that’s right, that’s right, boy ha!

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
Yes, yes
That sensual feeling

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
Yes, yes
That sensual feeling

Of course, you’re nicely coming closer
My handsome rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy
Every time I like you more, my heart gets electric
My handsome rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie boy ha!

Don’t smile when you look at other guys
As if you’re my boyfriend,
you got mad at me
Every morning, you come to pick me up baby
‘Cause you’re worried someone’ll take me away
All day, you’re cautious baby yeah

I like it, your sharpened eyes
But we’re still nothing special
How much longer are you gonna make me wait?
Come a little closer
Yes, that’s right, that’s right, boy ha!

You suddenly came into my life
Already putting me in danger, bewitching me
I even memorized your number in one try, why?
Why do you keep shaking me up?
Come close to me
Yes, that’s right, that’s right, boy ha!

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
Yes, yes
That sensual feeling

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
Yes, yes
That sensual feeling

I’m getting scared
So as much as you took my heart
I’m acting that much colder
Though you’re getting nervous, uh
I try to hide it but
You’re already the star of my heart
Now all of you
Keeps twinkling brighter, yeah

Rookie rookie, you’re my
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie, you’re my
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie, you’re my
Rookie rookie rookie
Rookie rookie, you’re my
Rookie rookie rookie

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
Yes, yes
That sensual feeling

Rookie rookie
My super rookie rookie rookie
Yes, yes
That sensual feeling

.


Credits:
Allkpop | SMTOWN @ YouTube | KPSKpop @ YouTube
music.naver | Amysbubble85@CCL | popgasa

~J̿L̿     #jalaness

Saying something?

