The Egocentric ME

I was really supposed to put ‘The Narcissistic ME’ but that’s quite over the line. I’m more of egocentric than narcissistic. Egocentric is caring too much about yourself and not about other people while Narcissistic is having an excessive interest in oneself and one’s physical appearance.. There’s a difference. But I’m not completely ‘not narcissistic’. Maybe… I’m getting there but not yet there.

Why say it? Well, recently, I have a friend / neighbor / church mate / brother of my goddaughter / godson of my sister who just started his blog here at WordPress. I think he’ll know I’m pertaining to him when he reads this. Reading his posts (a round of applause for being so literate), I realized that I’m really self-centered. Slash realize, I was reminded. I know I’m self-centered. I am very aware of it.

Being an introvert, I was more focused on myself than on others. That is why maybe I know most of who I am. Rather than thinking of my friends, my classmates, my family, the government, the poor and the rich, or whoever they are, it is the great I that my mind is working on. What will I do in this situation? How will I react to a circumstance? What will I say when someone talks to me like this? Anything under the sun… as long as… it is… the… great… I!!!! *plays evil laugh in the background*

Going back to my friend’s (and follows the slashes, you get it) posts, he talks about the government and the poor, and the you (as in the others, your others). His focus is external. Mine is always internal. Always me. See, S-E-L-F C-E-N-T-E-R-E-D! Egocentric. Well, I think there’s nothing wrong with that as long you don’t harm others, right? Right? *wiggles eyebrows* Right?

~J̿L̿     #jalaness

Saying something?

