Boyfriend (보이프렌드) : Janus (야누스)

Boyfriend’s Janus is from their first studio album, Janus The First Album, released last November 8.

First of all, I would like to warn you that this post will be biased especially to Hyunseong because this group in the top of my list next to SS501 and Hyunseong is next to Heo Young Saeng. So I’ll be really biased. Hope that’s fine. ≥^.^≤

.

Teaser

Album Cover

Group Concept Photo

Donghyun

Hyunseong

Jeongmin

Youngmin

Kwangmin

Minwoo

.

… and some more from the twins.(>‿♥)
… and in case you’re still a new Best Friend and is having a hard time differentiating the two, Youngmin is in white and Kwangmin is in his concept clothes.

Rating: 8.75 / 10
Relevance to the MV: 10 / 10
What I really liked about these teaser photos is that all of them did appear in the actual MV. Everything present in the teaser photos are present in the MV. The rating was kind of not in the range of 9.something because I, whose very biased with Boyfriend, thinks that the teaser photos they released were kind of lacking in the teasing part. Yes. The boys were awesome looking, not to mention sizzling hot and manly. But, it only showed themselves. I’m not saying I’m not satisfied with how they looks. I actually do. I did teased me up. But not the kind of teasing I experienced during their Don’t Touch My Girl promotions. Maybe because I already saw this manly side of theirs. (But of course, I liked this better than DTMG times since they are super sizzzzzling hoooooot here than there.)

.

Rating: 10 / 10
Relevance to the MV: 10 / 10
No. I’m not being bias when I’m giving this part. Truthfully, it is really really really teasing. I liked how Starship Entertainment made use to their advantage (as it already did in the past) the fact that they had the twins. I really really really like the teaser video. Everything was in the MV too. The set, the scenes, the music. Everything is in the MV. Perfect! ╍●‿●╍

.

Music Anticipation

This one is only a piano version but this is the best I could find to have the instrumental part of the song. :)

Rating: 8.30 / 10
What I imagine while listening is that someone who is fighting for his love one. Not because it will make them end up together but because fighting would make her happier with some other. What I mean is, he has this significant someone and that person loves some other guy. Then, for the sake of the pair to be happy, he would fight or suffer alone, sacrifice his happiness just for the girl to be happy. In other words, it’s being martyr, doing things for the sake of others even though you’ll be burdened or hurt. It’s really sad.

.

Story Review

Rating: 9 / 10
I liked how they made use of the twins to portray this kind of story and concept. Ok. For those who doesn’t know the concept of the MV, here it is from how I understood it. Janus is minor god with two faces. The concept of Janus was applied into the MV by showing two sides of that person, which are Youngmin and Kwangmin. Youngmin shows the side where he tries to forget and act normal while Kwangmin shows the side where he can’t let go of the girl and keep on getting angry for the regrets he has. So here is the flow of the story in the MV!

There is a couple roaming around in this bright and relaxing room filled with paintings of medieval persons.

They were happy together, smiling and all of that. We’ll call them the white couple.

If there’s white, there’s black too.

Well, unlike the white couple, this two dwells in a dark and tensed room. And apparently, they don’t seem to be happy.

Each couple are holding onto his/her pair. The black couple seems to be not the type of couple to be sweet as it shows how the girl hold onto the guy.

While, the white girl hold onto her guy gently and sweetly and ending up happy.

While the white couple is getting all cheesy sweet and all…

…the black couple is getting all seductive. And I’m feeling that the girl is trying, “Yes! I’m a bitch! And I’m seducing you!”

Then the snow came (in a covered room?) and the couple looked up. Youngmin The guy seems to be happy about it but the girl isn’t. It seems it’s a signal for her to do something sad.

The white guy noticed it. Also, the white girl let go of her hold to her guy.

The same goes for the other couple. After seducing Kwangmin the black guy, she pushed him away as if rejecting him.

The white girl walked away but the white guy tried to stop her. He held her but the white girl let loose of it and went on.

The boys tried to reach out but can’t. Maybe they’re so shocked and heart broken they can’t move.

OH! THIS BITCH!

The boys felt so shocked that they fell on the ground. The white guy stayed shocked but the black guy got angry. Maybe from regrets…

During their deepest fall, a companion came on the way. But are they a friend or a foe?

Apparently, Jeongmin is a friend. Giving moral support to the white guy.

But Minwoo! Oh that smirk of his! He whispered something to the black guy and it seemed something that would just make him more down of himself. And more so, he even pushed him down.

Other than Jeongmin and Minwoo, there are other who came. Donghyun helped the white guy. He took his hand and stood him up. While Hyunseong! My ever talented and posessing Janus personality HYUNSEONG came and wiped his lips (that’s KYAAAAAH!!!) and also pushed the black guy down. He laughed and laughed as if a real evil! Bwahahahaha!!!

The white guy is calm especially with the help of his other two white friends. He tries to forget and act normal. But another side of him, which is represented by the black guy, is full of rage and regrets.

You must be irritated on how I call Youngmin as the white guy and Kwangmin as the black guy. I have a reason so read on. I use this because the MV is portraying that Youngmin and Kwangmin acts as a single person who has two faces just like how Janus is. They portrayed Janus with two faces, one is calm, one is not. You’re getting the point?

.

Dance Check

As of now, there isn’t really a dance version or practice version of the song. But, by this time, they already have four Janus performances.

Rating: 8.75 / 10
I must say that I super liked the choreography. It kind of familiar with SS501’s Love Ya choreography. And their concept is almost like that too. I saw it especially in the way they cover their faces. It’s reminds me of how SS501 did. Yeah! I don’t mind at all. Boyfriend and SS501 are in my top 2! :D
So here are the steps I liked… What do you think?

It’s Hyunseong’s thingy is what I really liked here. Going up there and doing that. I really liked it. Not because it’s Hyunseong. It really looked cool for me.


.

Style Analysis

Boyfriend has three sets of clothes in this music video.

Rating: 8.5 / 10
This is the first one. Yes. This is their concept clothes. And yes. They did use this in the MV. It’s their concept clothes that’s why they used it in the MV right? xD I’m talking nonsense again. Anyway, should I still describe it? You can right click the photo and open it in a new tab to view it bigger if you can’t see it that clearly. I won’t describe it. What you see is what you get. BUT!!! I may not describe it but I have things to say about this set of clothes. I don’t really liked how the red thingy was put up like that. I think it somehow restricts their movements. Watch their fourth live performance (look at the Dance Check topic here) and somehow, there are times that you can see how that thingy makes it harder for them to move. You can compare it to their third performance where they used another set of clothes and it’s better and really looks that their movements are much more free than using this set of clothes. Anyway, in the MV, they only have this color, black with red. But in their first performance, they had black with blue. Then in their second live performance, they used this one. Then in their fourth live performance, they used white with red. The black with red gives me the impression of being cool not human creature… uhm, vampire? Something like that. White with red makes me think of ninjas. I don’t like the black with blue because the shade of blue they used was kind of dark that it almost just blend up with the black.

Rating: 8.40 / 10
Second set of clothes. Medieval? The rich people? The elite? Yeah. It gives me that. Although the first set was way cooler than this, I like them to use this one in their performances rather than the first set. They used this set of clothes during their third live performance.

They have their own clothes for the third set. There are white people and black people. Donghyun, Jeongmin and Youngmin for white, Minwoo, Kwangmin and Hyunseong (➳♥) for black.

Donghyun in white
Rating: 8 / 10

Hyunseong in black and looking hot! :D
Rating: 8.70 / 10

You see how thin he is? OMO! Is there abs somewhere there beneath that shirt? LOL!

Jeongmin in white.
Rating: 8 / 10

Youngmin, one of the faces for Janus, in white.
Rating: 8 / 10

Kwangmin, the other face for Janus, in black.
Rating: 8.50 / 10

Minwoo in black (and gold pants! :D)
Rating: 8.60 / 10

.

Setting Inspection

Boyfriend used two sets for the MV.

This is the setting where the black ones are. There were fire and sparks and everything that.
Rating: 8 / 10

This one is the place of the white ones. At first, it was only this but then at the end, it was full of snow.
Rating: 8.75 / 10

.

Lyrics

Rating: 9.70 / 10
I really liked the message of the song. When I am reading it, it is so sad I almost tear up. I’m the kind of person who is really touched by those things that are broken-hearted in a way. So in here, I really felt the sadness of song, of the message. It’s really really sad.

Korean
지금 웃고 있지만 애써 참고 있어 난
떨리는 내 두 손을 힘껏 잡고 있어 난
속고 있는 거야 넌 괜찮다는 내 말에
등 뒤에서 눈물을 모두 쏟고 있어 난
떨리던 작은 어깨가 그 작은 입술이
미안해 내 앞에서 주저 앉는 너
뜨겁던 나를 삼키고 니 눈물 훔치며
미안해 온 힘을 다해 안는 나

너의 어깨 너머 뱉는 한숨
너의 어깨 너머 차오는 눈물
그건 나만 아는 시선에 남긴다
끝까지 너의 기억 안에 살고 싶고
너의 기억 안에 웃고만 싶어
바보처럼 그저 너에게 웃는다

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
날 위한 눈물 그 눈물 거둬
그 애가 다쳐 나 땜에 다쳐
그러니 참고 또 참아야 해

네가 왜 네가 왜 네가 왜 나 땜에 울어
넌 항상 밝게 웃어 왜 울어
잊어 난 다 털고 편하게 떠나
못 믿니 네 발목 잡고 싶지 않아

나의 가슴 깊이 뛰는 심장
나의 가슴 깊이 잡아둔 미련
그건 나만 아는 맘으로 묻는다
끝까지 너의 웃음만을 보고 싶고
너의 웃음만은 지키고 싶어
어제처럼 그저 나에게 웃어줘

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
여기 내 심장 내 심장 속에
내 속을 감춰 널 위해 감춰
나를 다잡고 또 잡아야 해

너만이 내 주인이고 원하면
나를 떠날 수 있고
기꺼이 너를 보내 널 위해 나는 널 보내

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
날 위한 눈물 그 눈물 거둬
그 애가 다쳐 나 땜에 다쳐
그러니 참고 또 참아야 해

지금 웃고 있지만 애써 참고 있어 난
떨리는 내 두 손을 힘껏 잡고 있어 난
속고 있는 거야 넌 괜찮다는 내 말에
등 뒤에서 눈물을 모두 쏟고 있어 난

Romanization
jigeum utgo itjiman aesseo chamgo isseo nan
ddeollineun nae du soneul himggeot jabgo isseo nan
sokgo itneun geoya neon gwaenchanhdaneun nae mare
deung dwieseo nunmureul modu ssodgo isseo nan
ddeollideon jageun eokkaega geu jageun ibsuri
mianhae nae apeseo jujeo antneun neo
ddeugeobdeon nareul samkigo ni nunmul humchimyeo
mianhae on himeul dahae anneun na

neoui eokkae neomeo baetneun hansum
neoui eokkae neomeo chaoneun nunmul
geugeon naman aneun siseone namginda
ggeutkkaji neoui gieok ane salgo sipgo
neoui gieok ane utgoman sipeo
babocheoreom geujeo neoege utneunda

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
nal wihan nunmul geu nunmul geodwo
geu aega dachyeo na ddaeme dachyeo
geureoni chamgo ddo chamaya hae

nega wae nega wae nega wae na ddaeme ureo
neon hangsang balkge useo wae ureo
ijeo nan da teolgo pyeonhage ddeona
mot midni ne balmok jabgo sipji anha

naui gaseum gipi ddwineun simjang
naui gaseum gipi jabadun miryeon
geugeon naman aneun mameuro mudneunda
ggeutkkaji neoui useummaneul bogo sipgo
neoui useummaneun jikigo sipeo
eojecheoreom geujeo naege useojwo

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
yeogi nae simjang nae simjang soge
nae sogeul gamchwo neol wihae gamchwo
nareul dajabgo ddo jabaya hae

neomani nae juinigo wonhamyeon
nareul ddeonal su itgo
gikkeoi neoreul bonae neol wihae naneun neol bonae

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
nal wihan nunmul geu nunmul geodwo
geu aega dachyeo na ddaeme dachyeo
geureoni chamgo ddo chamaya hae

jigeum utgo itjiman aesseo chamgo isseo nan
ddeollineun nae du soneul himggeot jabgo isseo nan
sokgo itneun geoya neon gwaenchanhdaneun nae mare
deung dwieseo nunmureul modu ssodgo isseo nan

English Translation
I may be smiling right now but I’m trying to hold it in
I’m strongly clutching my two hands
You’re being deceived when I’m saying that I’m fine
I am shedding all my tears behind your back
Your small, trembling shoulders, your small lips
I’m sorry, you collapse before me
You swallow me up hotly and shed tears
I’m sorry, you hug me with all your strength

I let out a sigh past your shoulders,
tears rise up past your shoulders
But only I know how I look
I want to live in your memory till the end,
I want to smile in your memory
Like a fool, I just smile at you

You’re not a bad girl, You’re not a bad girl
The tears shed for me, put those tears away
She will be hurt, hurt because of me,
so I need to hold it in

Why, why, why are you crying because of me?
You should always brightly smile, why are you crying?
Forget me, brush me off and leave in peace
Don’t you believe me? I don’t want to bring you down

My heart that beats from deep inside,
the lingering attachment that’s deep inside
I just bury it as something only I know
I want to see only your smile till the end,
I want to protect your smile
Like yesterday, just smile at me

You’re not a bad girl You’re not a bad girl
In my heart, in my heart
I hide my feelings, I hide it for you
so I need to hold myself back

Only you are my master, if you want,
you can leave me
I will let you go, for you, I will let you go

You’re not a bad girl, You’re not a bad girl
The tears shed for me, put those tears away
She will be hurt, hurt because of me,
so I need to hold it in

I may be smiling right now but I’m trying to hold it in
I’m strongly clutching my two hands
You’re being deceived when I’m saying that I’m fine
I am shedding all my tears behind your back

Credits:
allkpop.com
colorcodedlyrics.com
starshipTV | YouTube

more of…
Boyfriend
JLyrics
ME!

Saying something?

