The Price of Revival

Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Won’t you first sit down and estimate the cost to see if you have enough money to complete it?

– Luke 14:28

Charles Finney once said that revival should come as no surprise. It is certain, just as a crop of wheat will come after the farmer has tilled the land and sown the seed. When we seek the face of God and are willing to pay the price of revival, it will come. The words of the missionary statesman, Jonathan Goforth, shed new light on the price of revival.

Our reading of the Word of God makes it inconceivable to us that the Holy Spirit should be willing, even for a day, to delay His work. We may be sure that, where there is a lack of the fullness of God, it is ever due to man’s lack of faith and obedience. If God the Holy Spirit is not glorifying Jesus Christ in the world today, as at Pentecost, it is we who are to blame. After all, what is revival but simply the Spirit of God fully controlling in the surrendered life? It must always be possible, then, when man yields. The sin of unyieldedness, alone, can keep us from revival.

But are we ready to receive Him? Do we value the giver and the gift sufficiently? Are we ready to pay the price of Holy Ghost revival? Take prayer for example. The history of revival shows plainly that all movements of the Spirit have started in prayer. Yet is it not right there that many of us wilt and falter at the cost?

“What is the secret of revival?” a great evangelist was once asked. “There is no secret,” he replied. “Revival always comes in answer to prayer.”

from: Daily Awakening by Stephen Hill, October 16

I say:

There would be times that I would really like to focus on doing these for God but there’s something pulling me back. I know for myself that it is in me and only me. I know that God has always been present and would always be ready to accept me and listen to me. It’s just that I don’t go and talk to Him. Hence, I’m the one going away from Him. I’m the one rejecting what God would be giving me. And I’m sorry for that. I’m not sorry because I’m not receiving those things. In fact, I receive more than I deserve. I’m sorry for myself who lost those opportunities that I could be closer to Him. And now, I would really like to continue this portion of my blog. Not only it reminds me to be close to Him and praise Him, but it also gives me the daily “Hey! God has given you another day. Isn’t He so great?”

Saying something?

