Young Missionaries

Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.
– Matthew 4:19

Jesus Himself was the first missionary! He did not sit by passively and let those who happened to be interested in His teaching come to him. He went out where the sick, the sorrowing, and the sad were, and expounded His message of joy, healing and salvation. Even at a tender age, He went to the Temple and “taught” the doctors and lawyers who were entrenched in the old traditions. He found His way to the seaside and intruded upon the life of the commonest of labourers, saying “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” Whenever He went He challenged, uprooted, and changed men. And at length they nailed Him to a cross because He had upset their selfish, secure, smug way of life. Not only was Jesus a missionary, but He pledged His followers to be missionaries, too!

Prayer of the Day:

Wherever I go, it is a mission field of You, Lord. Help me to be conscious of this, so that I may tell others the joyous message. 

I say:

The first thing that came to my mind was a tambourine step we use at church called “fishers of men.” I was wondering why is it fishers of men. I was thinking shouldn’t it be fishers of God since God is the one commanding them? It was cleared out today for me. Fishers of men. It means that we need to catch people like fishermen does to fishes. And then we share His word. Thus we fish for men to be believers. Hence, fishers of men means missionaries. Anyway, God started as young missionary. He was young but still he could think of the public. It just rebuke me not to be able to share to others what I know about Him. I can’t reason out that I’m still young to do that. As one of the verses in the Bible that being young won’t be a hindrance to serve Him. It was never a hindrance.
Check out my other daily devotion through God’s Love and my other blog.
Saying something?

