Educated Fools

It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God – that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption.
– 1 Corinthians 1:30
I believe we ought to get all the education we can, but we dare not make it our god. John Dewey once defined education as the systematic, purposeful reconstruction of experience; but so much of reconstructing our sins. We expand our sins, enlarge them, multiply them. We need education for the spirit. Man has a spirit, and in our educational system today we need a spiritual emphasis. If we bring up a generation that lacks the wisdom that God can give, they can turn into educated savages and fools. “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom” and education. Let’s make sure our rock is God.

Prayer for the Day:

Almighty God, I am grateful to You that Your Word educates my spirit and makes me whole.

from: August 13, Day by Day with Billy Graham; compiled by Joan Winmill Brown ©1976

I say:

“…educated savages and fools”… Thinking of it, there were a lot of people today who are smart and have already attained college degrees. But they don’t know anything about God. They don’t have the wisdom. Yes. They may have the knowledge. But that is very different from wisdom. Even yet, they are not saved. I may not have the right to say this but unless they have known God and accepted his teachings, they would go to hell. 
I’m not saying these things just to prefer to other people. I’m also thinking it to myself. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. (Matthew 7:2) That is why I’m thinking of it if that happens to me. I may be studying hard and getting high grades. I may be growing mentally but I’m not spiritually. I am very guilty I’m not. And I am very sorry. This is one of the reasons I started God’s Love: to help me grow spiritually. And I pray to God that He helps me through this.
Check out my other daily devotion through God’s Love and my other blog.
Saying something?

