Don’t be a fool.

My people are fools, they do not know me…

-Jeremiah 4:22
No man is more pathetic than he who is in great need and is not aware of it. Remember Samson? Standing there in the valley of Sorek, surrounded by the lords of the Philistines, “…he wist not that the Lord was departed from him.” It has been truly said, “No man is so ignorant as he who knows nothing and knows not that he knows nothing. No man is so sick, as he who has a fatal disease and is not aware of it. No man is so poor as he who is destitute and yet thinks he is rich.” The pitiable thing about the Pharisees was not so much their hypocrisy as it was their utter lack of knowledge of how poor they actually were in the sight of God. There is always something pathetic about a man who thinks he is rich when he is actually poor, who thinks he is good when he is actually vile, who thinks he is educated when he is actually illiterate.

Prayer for the Day:

Might I always remember the poverty of my soul before Your love invaded my life, Lord Jesus, and I knew You as Saviour.
from: August 12, Day by Day with Billy Graham; compiled by Joan Winmill Brown ©1976

I say:

As I read this, I am thinking of myself who is proud. I admit that I could be proud at times. If so, I would be a fool. I would think of myself as smart when I’m really not. I would think of myself as great when I’m not. I think the message of this is that we should be humble. Do not look at ourselves worthy enough when it is God who gives us everything. We are nothing without him. So be humble. Always remember, WITHOUT GOD, YOU ARE NOTHING.
Check out my other daily devotion through God’s Love and my other blog.
Saying something?

