4Minute (포미닛) : Volume Up

4Minute’s Volume Up is from their their third mini album, Volume Up, released last April 8.

Teaser

I actually like this teaser photo the most. Since the time I knew 4Minute, I’ve always seen them in fierce, hot and sexy looks. It would be my first time seeing them in this look. It brings them the innocent and young look.

Few suggestion to their stylist. It think it’ll be better if they made the pants black. I’m not a fashion expert but I think with that, they’ll look more like a vampire and hot and sexy.

Rating: 8 / 10

Relevance to the MV: 9.5 / 10

If they are trying to make 4Minute look like a vampire with this, Hyunah would only be the one who would pass as one. With Hyunah’s red lipstick, long and really black hair, and her eyes, it would really fit her. Others, they just look like beautiful fairies who turned into the bad side but forgot to change their clothes so they still have the looks of the good fairy.

Everything was relevant to the MV except the first teaser image they posted. In any way, I can’t find the relevance of the first teaser photo to the MV. Well, if they put some story in it that it was 4Minute when they were not yet vampires and just turned into one later on, then my rating to them would be perfect. But it didn’t. The first photo has definitely no relevance to the MV.

Rating: 8 / 10

Relevance to the MV: 10 / 10

The first video teaser is where what I’m saying is proven. Hyunah’s really the one who looks fierce and everything. I think comparing the two teaser videos, the first one is better in teasing the audience. Well, in my opinion.

Well, everything in the teaser videos were in the MV. No more, no less.

Music Anticipation

Rating: 8.5 / 10

At first, it gives me a certain feeling that I think will suit in some ballroom dance. But that feeling changed from the 15th second! It seems we’re on a fighting scene and I’m ready to go bust some ass! Just ready. Not yet fighting. It’s as if we’re going there and not yet there. Got it? xD

If it would be used as an OST, I think it will fit a scene showing a person rising from his downfall. I mean, a man who is downed by many is making his way to the top. He’s fighting his way to there. It’s as if saying, “Hey! Whoever you are who downed me, this is my real strength! And I’m going to the top. No one’s can stop me now.” And then at last, he was on the top. He succeeded. And no one can bring him down again. He’s now the boss!

Story Review

Rating: 8 /10

Actually, there isn’t any story that built up in the MV. There were only five ladies in a mansion…

…who seems to be…

VAMPIRES! And they’re not alone.

They have companions that…

…appear at the start of the party…

…and disappear when it’s over.

Anyways, these five ladies are very special. Different in their own ways.

One is not only great with boys and girls…

…but also with animals.

One is a snake.

I mean, loves snakes.

Another is a boy lover.

And hey! She loves displaying her garments too!

The oldest? Oh, she likes Latin. And dancing. In short, Latin dancing. Well, at least to me, it looked like that.

And of course, she has her way with boys.

But you’ve got to love their youngest! And I mean it!

She likes black. And skulls. Maybe death. And by the looks of it, she likes mourning.

Aren’t they lovely?

Style Analysis

4Minute has four sets of clothes in this music video.

Rating: 8 / 10

So this is their first set. Everyone wears the same dress. I like their skirts. Actually, it’s not skirts. It’s like a cape but it’s attached to their waists. Anyways, I like that part. It’s semi-transparent black cloth attached to a gold belt of their black shorts. Then they have that jacket like upper clothes. I like how it was styled with those lines and red and black patchwork on the shoulder.

 Rating: 9.5 / 10

I like this second set of clothes they have, particularly Gayoon’s. Everyone has different style of clothes but was united through the garment used. It’s like colorful silk garment of whatever. As you can see, Jihyun, the last on left, has some kind of cream-colored jacket with a very beautiful cut knee-short skirt. She also has a pair of black heels with (I think) gold chains. Then Jiyoon, the second to the left, seems to be wearing a jacket with blue helm and is belly short. It matched her pants that is somehow designed like her jacket. Also wearing black heels but is just plain one. Now Hyuna, middle, wears a sleeveless shirt designed with the garment used and was only belly short. She wears hot pants using the garment as her belt. Wearing cream colored heels. Gayoon, second to the right, wears my favorite for this set. Dress that is knee short and sleeveless and round neck. She is wearing black heels designed with also the garment like the one they used. Now Sohyun, last on right, wears a louse blouse with blue elbow short sleeves that matched her blue shorts.

Now their third set is their solos.

Gayoon

Hyunah

Jihyun

Jiyoon

Sohyun

Their fourth set was the whiter version one. At first, I thought it was just like the one on their teaser but it’s not.

Gayoon

Hyunah

Jihyun

Sohyun

Sohyun

Setting Inspection

There are two places where 4Minute dances.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

It’s like inside a mansion. And this is the all purpose hall.

Rating: 9 /10

Now the second one seems to be outside. It looks as if it’s an old church without the chairs and the floor is just soil.

They have their own rooms too.

Gayoon

Hyunah

Jihyun

Jiyoon

Sohyun

Rating: 9.5 /10

Lyrics

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Really! The lyrics were nice. It says the message of a woman who was forgotten or dumped by his guy. It tells how the guy was put into trance whenever he hears her voice, smells her perfume and feels her presence. But now, the guy was freed from all that. It makes sense that they used the concept of vampires to illustrate the song. It’s as if the guys was free from being hypnotized by these vampires and now the vampires are sad and lonely and no more powers because their victims were not in their hands anymore and there is no one to love them.

Color Code:

Jihyun | Gayoon | Jiyoon | Hyunah | Sohyun

Hanggul

나를 처음 봤을 땐 눈도 못 땠었던

너 uh uh uh uh 너 uh uh uh uh

쉽다고 싫다며

뒤에서 내 얘길 해 eh eh eh eh Why

매일 내 목소리에 춤을 추고 웃고 바라보던 넌

이제 내 목소리도 듣기 싫다고서 등을 돌리고 있어

미치겠어 나 이제 끝났대

더 이상은 내 자리가 없대

내 목소릴 높여줘 높여줘 높여줘

이 음악을 더 크게 Everybody time to rock

다 치우고 Pump up the volume! (Up up)

듣기 싫어 Pump up the volume! (Up up)

갈수록 더 변해질 거야 ah

독하게 eh eh eh oh 더~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh 더~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

제대로 날 한 번 봐준 적 없었던

너 uh uh uh uh 너 uh uh uh uh

내가 뭘 하던지 관심조차 없던

Hey eh eh eh eh Why

매일 내 가슴만 더 조여오게 하는 너의 시선이

이제 내 가슴에 더 상처로 남아서 나를 감춰버렸어

미치겠어 나 이제 끝났대

더 이상은 내 자리가 없대

내 목소릴 높여줘 높여줘 높여줘

이 음악을 더 크게 Everybody time to rock

다 치우고 Pump up the volume! (Up up)

듣기 싫어 Pump up the volume! (Up up)

갈수록 더 변해질 거야

독하게 eh eh eh oh 더~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh 더~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

넌 모를 거야 나를 잘 알 수 없겠지

아무것도 모르고 내 앞에서 그렇게

Lie lie lie lie

Lie lie lie lie

Lie lie lie lie

다 치우고 Pump up the volume! (Up up)

듣기 싫어 Pump up the volume! (Up up)

갈수록 더 변해질 거야

독하게 eh eh eh oh 더~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh 더~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

Romanized

nareul cheo-eum bwah-sseul ttaen nundo mot ttaesseot-deon

neo uh uh uh uh neo uh uh uh uh

shwiipda-go shirhdamyeo

dwiieseo nae yaegil hae eh eh eh eh Why

mae-il nae moksorie chumeul chu-go utko parabodeon neon

ije nae moksorido deudgi shirhda-goseo deungeul dolligo isseo

michikesseo na ije kkeunnat-dae

teo isangeun nae jari-ga eopt-dae

nae moksoril nopyeojwo nopyeojwo nopyeojwo

i euma-geul deo keuge Everybody time to rock

da chi-u-go Pump up the volume! (Up up)

deudgi shirheo Pump up the volume! (Up up)

kal-surok deo byeonhaejil keoya ah

dokha-ge eh eh eh oh deo~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh deo~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

jedaero nal han beon bwah-jun jeok eop-seot-deon

neo uh uh uh uh neo uh uh uh uh

nae-ga mwol hadeonji kwahnshimjocha eopt-deon

Hey eh eh eh eh Why

mae-il nae gaseumman deo joyeo-o-ge haneun neoye shiseoni

ije nae gaseume deo sang-cheoro namaseo nareul kamchwobeoryeosseo

michikesseo na ije kkeunnat-dae

teo isangeun nae jari-ga eopt-dae

nae moksoril nopyeojwo nopyeojwo nopyeojwo

i euma-geul deo keuge Everybody time to rock

da chi-u-go Pump up the volume! (Up up)

deudgi shirheo Pump up the volume! (Up up)

kal-surok deo byeonhaejil keoya

dokha-ge eh eh eh oh deo~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh deo~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

neon moreul keoya nareul jal al su eopt-ket-ji

amugeot-do moreu-go nae apeseo keureohke

Lie lie lie lie

Lie lie lie lie

Lie lie lie lie

da chi-u-go Pump up the volume! (Up up)

deudgi shirheo Pump up the volume! (Up up)

kal-surok deo byeonhaejil keoya

dokha-ge eh eh eh oh deo~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh deo~

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

English Translation

When you first saw me, you couldn’t take your eyes off of me

Uh uh uh uh you, uh uh uh uh

You talk about me and say you don’t like me 

Because I’m too easy behind my back Eh eh eh eh why

You used to dance and smile everyday to my voice

But now you say you don’t want to hear my voice anymore and turn your back

I’m going crazy, he says I’m done now

He says there’s no room for me anymore

Turn up my voice, Turn up this music

Everybody time to rock

Take it all away and pump up the volume (up up)

Don’t wanna hear it – pump up the volume (up up)

I will change more as time goes by 

And get stronger eh eh eh oh more

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh more

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

You never looked at me properly even once

Uh uh uh uh you, uh uh uh uh

Whatever I did, you didn’t care

Hey eh eh eh eh why

Your eyes make constrict my heart more and more everyday

Now I am hidden as a greater scar in my heart

I’m going crazy, he says I’m done now

He says there’s no room for me anymore

Turn up my voice, Turn up this music

Everybody time to rock


Take it all away and pump up the volume (up up)

Don’t wanna hear it – pump up the volume (up up)

I will change more as time goes by and get stronger eh eh eh oh more

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh more

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

You won’t know

There’s no way you would know me

Lie lie lie lie

Lie lie lie lie

Lie lie lie lie

Take it all away and pump up the volume (up up)

Don’t wanna hear it – pump up the volume (up up)

I will change more as time goes by 

And get stronger eh eh eh oh more

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh oh more

Uh uh uh uh uh Uh uh uh uh uh

Credits:

Hanggul : colorcodedlyrics.com

Romanized : colorcodedlyrics.com

English : lybio.com

Color Coding : me+ako

Cover + Teaser Photos : allkpop.com

Story + Style + Setting Photos : me+ako

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

For more MV Reviews, just click on my JLyrics on the categories:)

Saying something?

